The History of Appledore
The picturesque quayside village of Appledore is situated in North Devon, on the estuary where the rivers Taw and Torridge meet, in the heart of a UNESCO Biosphere and Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.
With a history that can be traced as far back as a Viking raid in 878 by Hubba the Dane, it is the village’s seafaring past that dominates Appledore’s history.
It has been a thriving maritime village since the 14th century, with a tradition of fishing, trading and boat building. With its maze of quaint, narrow streets and multi-coloured fishermen’s cottages, some of which date back to the Elizabethan era, visitors are also charmed by Georgian ship-owner’s houses, old sail lofts and the Victorian shipwright houses.
Shipbuilding has been part of Appledore’s history for centuries, and the Richmond Dry Dock was built in 1856 by William Yeo, named after Richmond Bay on Prince Edward Island where the Yeo family shipbuilding business was based. At the present time the shipyard is closed but there are hopes that it will reopen in the not too distant future.
Appledore’s rich shipbuilding and seafaring history can be seen at the award-winning North Devon Maritime Museum based in Odun Road. With seven exhibition rooms, visitors can discover the WWII beach landing experiments, sail and steam vessels, shipwrecks and much more.
Our thanks to the Museum for providing some of these photos.
Link here to Devon Maritime Museum: http://northdevonmaritimemuseum.co.uk/